Two B’s That Stand for Business


The front view of a new restaurant you can conduct business meetings in Lincoln Park. Great food, amazing customer service, and perfect atmosphere to do business.

I am a mobile professional. My office is in Palatine. I live in Wicker Park. In the city is where I conduct most of my business. For the past couple of months, I have had discussions with entrepreneurs, salespeople, business owners, and other professionals that share the same experience. We share the best places to work while you are in between appointments, if you have calls to make, and/or you need a place to meet a prospect or networking partner. That created, yet another, idea. In the blog, I will start highlighting my experiences, reviews, and recommendations for restaurants, coffee shops, co-working spots and all the other places that people, like us, can work from.

Batter and Berries Open for Business

The first restaurant to get the honor, is the new breakfast and lunch spot in Lincoln Park called Batter & Berries. The SBAC (Small Business Advocacy Council) has been searching for a new home to host the breakfast networking meetings in Lincoln Park since Topics closed down, earlier this month. It is safe to say, we found it. Batter & Berries is an outstanding choice. We arrived on Tuesday morning, promptly at 8am. The staff was ready for us. We had roughly 13 people there, give or take. We all sat and the waiter gave us a few minutes to chat. Then we began our meeting agenda. Everyone who attended began to go around the table to share what they did, how they helped people and who are good introductions. At the end, as we were wrapping up, my mind started to wonder. The inner dialogue was around the place we just spent an hour and half of our morning in. There were three areas of the restaurant that stood out. It is very rare when you find an establishment that has all three. Even the, so-called, five-star restaurants rarely possess all three. Let’s see what they are…

1. Service

2. Food

3. Management

Service That Leaves You with a Smile

Personally, I was very impressed by the staff. They were friendly and extremely customer orientated. The waiter was engaging with all the us. I have an eye for that because I am a student of performance, speaking, presenting, and selling and that is really the skills of a great waiter. The B&B waiter did not disappoint.

I quit my job at a fancy downtown restaurant where I was getting paid over $150,000, to open a restaurant for y’all. – Derek Rylon, Owner and Chef of Batter and Berries

The group of professionals networking, learning, and referring business at Batter and Berries in Lincoln Park Chicago, IL.

Food That Makes You Say, “WOW!”

The food was incredible. As I have stated in many of my previous posts, perception is everything. That could not be further from the truth with Batter & Berries. Honestly, it does not look like much from the outside. The place looks like a typical breakfast joint. However, the food is amazing. I had two eggs over easy with a side of hash browns and chicken sausage. Because I choice to watch my salt intake, I leave salt out and use hot sauce. When asking the waitress for the hot sauce, her  response was, “Tangy or sweet?” I loved the sound of that. They make their own hot sauce. It was just as good as everything else. The chicken sausage had a sweet taste to it and was flatten to a patty. The food presentation is equally impressive, as all the other attributes of the business. The plates are clear and rectangular. Transparent plates for a transparent business. After talking with the owner and chef, Derek Rylon, he said, “We did that, so you can see the tables.” You can see the tables in the picture and on their Facebook Page.

The Management That Makes Sacrifices 

During our meeting, we had the pleasure to meet Derek Rylon the Chef and Owner of Batter & Berries. Derek was very nice. He talked about the restaurant. The new small business owner stated, if we have any comments good or bad, his door is always open. He actually encourages feedback. Derek said, “I quit my job at a fancy downtown restaurant where I was getting paid over $150,000 to open a restaurant for y’all. We took normal, everyday food and gave it spin.” Derek continued to explain, “The food looks like regular breakfast food, but when you taste it, it taste like nothing you have every had before. We freshly shred the potatoes every morning for the hash browns.” And how good they were. It’s making my mouth water while I am writing this. Derek is such as nice and caring person that it shines through in the restaurant.

Business at a Restaurant

The next time you are thinking about a good place to take a prospect or meet a strategic partner or host a group meeting, think Batter & Berries. You will not go wrong with the friendly service, the sensational food, and the customer first mentality of management. Batter & Berries is more than a local establishment, it is open for business. The business of serving the professional community.

What is your favorite restaurant or other establishment to do business?

About Brandon M. Lewin

Marketing and training run through my blood. That is why I love what I do. Being an intricate piece in the marketing success of Cardinal Path Training Academy has been a dream. Its imperative for us to share our knowledge with a community of people and organizations who desperately need guidance in the fields of digital intelligence and marketing. The future depends on it. I also get the chance to teach people with hands-on, real world experience workshops. That is so much fun to infotain. Beyond my passion for my work, my family is my everything. Chicago sports is a close third.
This entry was posted in Business Development, Businesses, Connecting, Customer Service, Entrepreneur, Entrepreneurs, Events, Lead Generation, Marketing, Networking, Personal Branding, Quality Introductions, Referrals, Relationship Building, Small Business, Small Businesses and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

